Home > Charcutepalooza, FAIL, Pork > Packing Challenge – FAIL

Packing Challenge – FAIL

It’s been a while since I’ve had an epic failure in cooking. This one seems to be it.

 

My Charcutepalooza challenge this month was to make a paté of some sort. I opted for the English Pork Pie – ground up meat encased in a flaky pie crust.

 

But I blow at baking pastries. I’m not sure what it is exactly. Maybe I’m too impatient. Maybe it senses my fear. Maybe it knows I don’t like it. Maybe because I don’t practice enough since most pastries tend to be sweet and I’m too much an umami fan boy. Whatever the case, baking has never been an absolute enjoyment to me. As a result, my finished product tends to be ‘meh’ at best, English pork pie notwithstanding.

 

The general directions for the pie crust were simple. Mix in 8oz of cold butter and lard with 1lb of flour. Add in a cup of egg/water mixture.

 

Everything still looked like it could work at this point.

My experience? The dough was way goopy when I started adding the lard. I just used a touch of the egg/water mixture and added a little more flour. It was definitely going to be a flaky dough.

 

As for the meat filling, that was simple. I’m good with working with meats most of the time anyway. (I’m an umami fan boy remember?) There isn’t too much too write about this, it’s fairly similar to the sausage making process.

 

Before the bake... this could still work...

The problem came with the baking.

 

You see, flaky crust may taste great in a cobbler. But when it’s supposed to provide ‘structural support’ to keep a meat filling in, it’s quite A FAIL. Throw that in with a really juicy meat filling and things go to crap fairly quickly.

 

Things going to crap. The crust cracked resulting in a lot of juices going all over the pan. That in turn led to really wet and soggy crust. Not a good thing.

So this attempt at cooking something didn’t go according to plan. I’m a little upset. Then again, it’s in the failures that we learn. It’s cliché, I know, but I truly believe that.

It still looks half decent thanks to staging work. Meat tastes delicious though, as fatty pork shoulder always should.

 

Categories: Charcutepalooza, FAIL, Pork
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

