When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Confit

Over the last weekend, I decided to check out Central Market’s Citrusfest. As mentioned by David Lebovitz, Central Market has quite the spread of citruses over this period.

I knew there were a few varieties of citrus but I honestly don’t really know too much about one from the other.  I mean, what’s the real difference between a Meyer and a Lisbon lemon? (Lisbon lemons are usually grown year round and are your typical grocery store lemon.)

Anyway, I’ve heard quite a bit about the Meyer lemon and they looked really great, quite unlike the regular dry hard-as-rock type lemon. Seriously, I don’t think I could ever squeeze more than a couple of drops of juice from a generic store bought lemon. But I digress.

So with tons of lemons on hand (well, in a bag really) and a charcuterie kick (thanks to Charcutepalooza), I set off to make some lemon confit.

Meyer Lemons

Despite seeing it included in a few recipes, I don’t think I actually know what lemon confit really tastes like. (My dad used to make preserved key limes which, I guess you can call lime confit considering that the process is exactly the same.) The process seemed simple enough – half a bunch of lemons, stuff them in a container while filling it with salt. Wait for a month, preferably three.

Stuffing Lemons into Salt

As a side project, I made another smaller container of Lisbon lemon confit. We’ll see how this turns out in a month.

Waiting's the Hardest Part

There are a few recipes out there but I opted for the simplest one, as was listed in Michael Ruhlman’s Charcuterie. First, half a bunch of lemons. Next, pack them into salt. Wait 1 month. Done.

We’ll see what happens in a month.

P.S. I’m hoping the pictures are turning out slightly better. I guess they’re not the greatest but I made a small 5-cent mod to my camera.

2 Replies to “When Life Gives You Lemons, Make Confit”

Leave a Reply

