The Art of Spicing Up Leftovers

As mentioned in a previous post, I made some chili for chili dogs for some volunteers and there were some leftovers.

I was kind of done with chili dogs. Yes they’re yummy but I’m not a fan of eating the same thing twice a week. I figured I could do something in the spirit of dan dan mian. That and skyline chili.

Chili noodles
Chili noodles in the spirit of dan dan noodles.

Ok, I must admit this is nothing like real dan dan noodles. But the concept of spicy minced meat over noodles is kind of there.

With a choice of regular egg or shrimp noodles, I went for the shrimp just cos.

Shrimp Noodles

To give the chili a little extra kick, I finished it off with some spicy thai chili, Chinese coriander/parsley, and green onions.

Aromatics - chili, spring onion, coriander/cilantro
The trio that spiced it all up

Not a decent use of leftovers if I must say so myself. Sure beats eating yet another hot dog.

By the way, this is great for hangovers.

Leave a Reply

