Home > Hot Dogs, Rants, Vegeterian > Smart Dogs is a Dumb Idea

Smart Dogs is a Dumb Idea

Phew, what a long morning. Last week, I volunteered to cook for about 20 volunteers who were working on a construction project. Today happened to be the day.

My original plan was to make something cheap yet a little different. I opted for fried rice initially. Seeing that the best fried rice requires cold leftover rice, I spent Thursday firing up 2 rice cookers for this endeavor.

And then I get an email telling me that finger food is preferred. That along with expecting 28 people instead. Fried rice wouldn’t really fly (more one the leftover rice next time) so I went for some serious chili dogs with cheese. Having been vegan and having to put up with the difficulty of finding vegan/vegetarian food, I had to have a vegetarian option of course.

Enter the Smartdog:

They really aren’t so smart an idea

Which brings me to the point where I was. With all 4 burners of the stove burning, I was skimming off fat from the chili when I smelled something really funky, kind of a hybrid of bleach and really disgusting cheap plastic wrap. I had no idea what it was initially until I look down and realized that steam from the veggie dogs were blowing in my face.

It tasted as bad as it smelled. My sort-of-vegetarian-but-no-longer friend couldn’t handle them. My roommate and former vegan Jeremy wouldn’t even try them.

So a note to all of you out there – avoid the smart dog. Seriously.

Categories: Hot Dogs, Rants, Vegeterian
  1. lin
    July 5, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Yeah well, even my dog, who loves hot dogs, gagged on them. Try morning star hot dogs instead, they are much better.

  1. January 24, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

